SNAP Natural Supplement

Our daughter (15 years) was diagnosed with ADHD, it is recommended that she take an over the counter medicine known as SNAP - which is a natural supplement, per their website:
SNAP is a natural treatment for ADHD and other disorders including ODD, DMDD, ASD, Anxiety and mood disorders. A well-researched nutrient blend known to help stabilize moods, which calms wild minds and soothes the soul. Pharmaceutical grade nutrients provide safe, effective neurotransmitter support for the brain. When the brain regulates properly, symptoms improve.

Here’s a link to the site:

1. Has anyone taken this medicine/supplement? If so, what has your experience been?
  2. Does anyone advise against trying this other than CBT, et al?
  3. Anything else out there that is similar that has had a high rate off success before diving into the world of prescription meds?

Thanks in advance for your help and insight as it is greatly appreciated.

1 Like

I have no experience with this, but I would approach it with a great deal of skepticism. This kind of treatment has had far less study than prescription treatments, and since it considered a “supplement” it allows the seller to skip the kinds of scrutiny that drugs do receive. In fact, most of the time nobody is even checking to make sure that supplements actually contain what they claim to contain.

It’s your choice, of course.

I can say that I’ve taken some of the vitamins listed in this product, and have noticed no change whatsoever. My understanding is that supplements are generally only beneficial when one’s diet is deficient.

3 Likes

I’ve also taken some of the things in this product as well as some other supplements. The only one that seemed to have an effect was a mineral that I had some symptoms of deficiency. Even then, the effect was fairly subtle and I can’t be certain that the supplement was the cause.