Stress and Medication

Hello! I just got diagnosed last month and I’m on day 7 on Adderall XR. Since this is all new to me, I wanted to ask if anyone knows if stress can affect how well the med works? I feel like earlier this week I had such a dramatic change on the med and then today I felt like a hot mess at work. I was more scattered, forgetful, stressed and not as calm. I started the week with a lot of hope and now I feel discouraged.

Thanks so much.

2 Likes

I can’t really speak on your question exactly since I only recently started medication (vyvanse) myself. I can say that my symptoms do worsen with stress (when I was not on any medication). I have had one really stressful day since I started vyvanse last week, but it was less than my normal stress induced symptoms.

I’m not a doctor, but it’s possible your not responding to this particular medication. 20% of us don’t positively respond to Adderall or Ritalin. Another thought are the side effects. I don’t know about this kind in particular, but I know the kind I’m on may worsen anxiety.

These are just things to think about, and you should absolutely talk to your doctor about how you’ve been feeling.

2 Likes

Only if I don’t get enough sleep I become way more sensitive to stress. And get a touch of anxiety.

7 days in is so so early in the scheme of things it takes time to adjust and find the best med and dosage. Keep notes and talk to your doctor I think only just now I have found the sweet spot with meds and it has taken almost a year of trials to get this far. But I have taken it very slowly.

M

2 Likes

If you are on day 7 you might not be at the correct dose for you, yet. The good response earlier in the week is a very good sign

3 Likes

^ This. Give it time. Work with your provider. Only time and your feedback will tell if this is the right medication for you and what the ultimate right dose will be. Medication can be very effective for most people, but it takes some time to get there.

2 Likes