student in london who has just been diagnosed

Hi amazing brains,

My nickname is Kaji and I’m a 23 year old student of social anthropology and history. I was diagnosed with ADHD and 4 types of synaesthesia around 5 months ago. It has been a crazy journey since finding this out. Also, just before my diagnosis I got out of a toxic relationship and delved straight into finishing my final year of university. I have always been academic and creative minded but struggled with deadlines and lots of reading. I hit the wall when coming to uni and luckily my university have been very understanding and have given me mitigation for my work (even before my diagnosis) as they’re pretty hot with mental health issues.

I have not taken any medication but have taken natural supplements(only a couple of times as they’re very intense) and matcha lattes (which help big time!). When I took some blue-green algae along with coffees and matcha lattes I found that I felt way better (a stronger sense of who I was, memory was super on point, no need to hyperfocus on anything, processing speed was awesome) but at the same time I lost my philosophical and creative thoughts that were very unique to me. It felt very boring. I could happily live a conventional life with the closest thing I felt to being neurotypical (except I experienced some emotional numbing) but there was no need to express myself or live life to the fullest. However, I’m having a dilemma as I would like to try medication for the last couple of months of my degree. As my anthropology dissertation will require me to be super creative and my history side of my degree to be dependant on a good memory, I’m not sure if it’s a good idea to go for it now?