Studying "Routine"

I am a college student who is really struggling to find effective ways to study. I laugh as I write this topic title because I think nothing a person with ADHD does resembles a routine. I just would like to know what study tips the community has. When you sit down to study exactly what do you have in front of you? How do you begin? How, where, when do you study? What works and doesn’t work for you? How long and how much do you study? How do you take notes? Do you study with groups? Do you have any tips for studying in a group? Just share anything and everything you have. Finals are coming up so fast!

For me, it’s all about the physical. I’m a software developer, so it seems strange to say “no devices” to study, but I need to have a physical book to write notes in. I write the notes in whatever format appeals to me at that moment. Some times it will be lists, sometimes it will be little boxes all over the page. But I have to “do” something while I study to get it to stick in my head.

Once I’ve written it, it’s time for the highlighter. I go over everything I wrote and highlight what’s most important. Again, “doing” something helps me focus.

Then I try to find the right about of background stimulation to keep me focused. Music, from ambient to hard rock depending on what I need, at whatever volume works for me at that moment (it can change multiple times in a study session). A fan to keep my skin cool and stimulated. Sitting, lying down, upside down. Pacing, dancing. I can’t do podcasts or youtube, or I’ll watch that instead of studying, but I have to have more stimulus to keep focused.

Sometimes, I read my notes or the text out loud. Whatever you need to maintain the right level of stimulation so you can focus.

Thank you so much! Those are all great ideas! i tend to like studying with a pen and paper and a physical books rather than with technology. I will especially try talking out loud in order to maintain focus.