the perils of trying to get things done

1. some time ago i was hit by a wave of motivation. “i will wait no longer! today is the day i will begin saving for retirement,” i boldly proclaimed. “i will not allow fear or inertia to stand in my way.”

i jumped out of bed and went to go secure my financial future.

fast forward to now and i’ve only just finished the process of correcting the typo – which i repeatedly confirmed – in my own name.

1. i’ve been cutting my hair since jan 2021. i do a pretty good job for a person who isn’t a trained hairdresser, has no hand eye coordination, has no sense of style, and also doesn’t look in a mirror.

i forgot my clippers when i moved so i have let my hair get a bit scraggly looking. yesterday i got the motivation to go buy some new clippers. they cost more than twice as much as my old clippers but i figured it was worth it.

i was lying in bed today really, really, really not wanting to cut my hair. but i finally persuaded myself to just do it. i need to look somewhat presentable, i can’t be this lazy, etc.

i got up. set up the clippers. started to cut. the clipper caught my hair and just chewed it up.

it was only then i noticed that it was a totally different brand. also i had a giant bald spot on the back of my head.

1. i decided to wash dishes. i dropped a container full of dirty water which splashed upward covering me, the wall, and all the clean dishes in the dish rack.

2. i decided to eat like a human. i found a recipe for rice and beans.

it’s inedible. it boiled over and dumped 80 gallons of water onto the counter and floor. but is somehow still 98% water and 2% things that will clog the drain.

what a wonderful lateral thinking challenge to figure out how to throw it out without making a bigger mess.

current plan: go out to the backyard, open the compost bin, hide inside until someone else (maybe the army corps of engineers?) deals with it.

stay in bed. stay safe.

4 Likes