The To-Do List Monster

I know that to-do lists can be super helpful for brains, but more often than not they are a nightmare for me. The list of things I need to do is terrifyingly long, it feels like each thing will take more time than I have time to give to that task, and I can’t prioritize them. It becomes this huge monster list and everything needs to be done now.
It’s gotten so bad that even the thought of writing the list can send me into a tailspin. I tried writing one tonight…there have already been many emotional breakdowns. At one point I couldn’t see what I was writing through the tears. I feel like just looking at my list can make me hyperventilate. But I know if I don’t write things down I will end up forgetting them.

How do you do it? How do you not let it bury you?

I’m a teacher I had to write plans that covered the entire year, it was overwhelming I asked for help for a form so that I could make it bite sized

What form?

Actually the spanish teacher helped me with form for unit plans and yearly plans

To-do lists can be intimidating, that’s for sure. I tried making them more detailed, breaking each task down into manageable steps but that, while making it easier to cross things off which is the secret goal in all to-do lists, also made them even more intimidating. What helped me a bit was breaking them down into several lists. A big one for the major tasks and detailed ones for each task. I only wirte the smaller ones once I’m more or less ready to tackle the task. It’s a good first step.