Tired, Lazy or ADHD?

I did 21 hours at work at the weekend, which is alot more than I do normally, fixing problems that were really someone else’s but since I was the only one there and I work in healthcare, I had them on my watch and on my conscience & you got to do the right thing. So today I was off, and I did sleep late, but I just haven’t been able to get chores done. I’ve been having a bit of emotional stress with worries about my elderly mother and my siblings, who live 500 miles away too. But I would just like to get the stuff done. I can’t wait for perfect conditions or give myself a week off to ‘recharge batteries’, and I feel if I do it won’t work, just set the right conditions for procrastinating and brain ‘off roading’ as Jessica so perfectly puts it. I need a kick in the pants but can’t be bothered to do it …

4 Likes

Sometimes you also need time to attend to your self care. Taking a mental health day, relaxing, or just even letting some things go is an important part of that process. Try not to beat yourself up over not being a go getter every minute of every day.

The motivation may still be a struggle at some point, but it will likely be easier to get motivated if you’re not exhausted or burnt out. If there are things you’re struggling to do, it can be useful to watch some of the HowToADHD videos on getting started, but even those may not be necessary if what you’re trying to tackle is stuff you’ve already been successful at in the past.

Be patient. Be kind to yourself. Know that it’s okay to relax and not do everything all the time. It sounds like you need a bit of a break, so make sure you take it. If you’re burnt out or pushing yourself beyond a healthy limit it’s going to have a much more negative impact than taking a few extra hours or days to recharge your batteries.

3 Likes