Transitioning between tasks... When you're the teacher!

I just realised that one of the things I am still struggling with as a teacher is the pace of lessons, and that has to do with transitioning between tasks.

My lessons need to have more ‘pace’: I need to expect more production from my teenagers (14-16) and I need to have more variety in activities offered per lesson.

And I think (since a couple of seconds ago reading on here about why getting in the shower can be an issue for us brains!) that my own difficulty transitioning between tasks may be part of the reason why I am not very good at getting other people to transition between tasks.

Any potentially helpful thoughts, anyone? (I don’t think you have to be a teacher to have useful input on this).

1 Like

A few ideas:

• Write the agenda for each class on the board. This will help you stay organized, but also help the students understand what is coming up and how to prepare. If you want to challenge yourself, you can even put times on the tasks so that the class can know the pacing and you have an urgent incentive to move from one to another.
  • Spend more time coming up with creative tasks and activities, such as videos, Powerpoint, worksheets, breakout projects, mindfulness breaks, etc. Sometimes you can overlap one with another. Maybe while the class is watching a short video you can get setup for the next task. I’m sure you probably already do this, though.
  • Give out instructions to different class members each session. Pass out little pieces of paper that include numbers on them that correspond to the order you want to do things in. For example, “Who has number 1?” “I do!” “What’s it say we’re going to start with?” “It says math problems. Ew.” “Okay, math problems it is!” … I don’t know what you teach, so I picked an example.