University Tips

Hi!

I’m in my final year of high school (only one term and two sets of exams left) and I’ve been told that I can apply for university courses in two weeks! I was wondering if any of you wonderful people out there have any tips for being a brain at a uni.

I’m wanting to study Psychology, by the way. :slight_smile:

Thank you in advance for your great advice. :smiley:

The big difference between high school and university, is that nobody will hound you if you miss a class. You are your own boss. So if you want to spend all day at the pub with your friends, nobody will bat an eyelid.

So you need to be able to organise and motivate yourself much more than you have to in high school.

It helps if you’ve chosen a course that really interests you, but you’ll still have to do a bunch of stuff that doesn’t seem to have any relevance to what you want to learn.

I’m sure that they actively try in first year to bore you to tears. I guess it sorts the wheat from the chaff. After first year, you’ll start to learn more interesting things.

Just try to stay motivated, and keep the procrastination down to a minimum, always tough with ADHD.

And be prepared to feel like you’re under pressure 24 hours a day. In a job situation, you get home and forget about work. At uni, your brain is on the whole time, thinking about deadlines and assignments.

Thanks, that’s really helpful. :slightly_smiling_face:

No worries. I’d like to say that it worked for me, but sadly, no.

I’m much better at giving advice, than I am at following my own advice.

Be prepared for it to be difficult. Really difficult. Not necessarily the workload (although that’s not easy), but keeping your own mind from sabotaging you will be the real battle.

It’s ok smoj, wisdom is still wisdom.