Wanting to let go things

Hi guys :raising_hand_woman:t3:
I am in my last year of med school and hopefully graduating soon and I should be working as hell, but i keep on thinking about my relashionships with my friends, how i screw up some things, how i said the wrong thing, how sometimes I just needed attention and turned up in me beeing super annoying …
It just feels like, if I want to have a normal day, with normal interaction that I won’t regret later, I need to be 100% of the time in SUPER control of myself and my impulsivity … that’s exhausting, and not even perfectly working…
I wonder sometimes if it gets easier after that … If i will ever be able to be the person that I want to be around people, the not embarrassing one, and the chill one… not always ready to burst or explode… and not always crying for beeing noticed …

Sorry if it sometimes doesn’t mean anything, I’m working really hard on my english haha

Anyway, I just wanted to know if you sometimes feel the same…

5 Likes

It’s definitely something that can get better. There are ways to feel more confident, and also to practice some of the interactions that are hardest. There are a lost of good interpersonal skills tips available from DBT. You can find some here: Interpersonal Effectiveness Handouts

Also, talking with a therapist to process these issues can be good. Maybe doing some CBT. Sometimes we think we’re messing things up when we’re actually not. We do a lot of fortune-telling, mind-reading, and catastrophizing. Also, a therapist can help you process specific interactions and find ways to manage them.