What kind of support for ADHD can you get at uni? (UK)

So I got a form from the uni I applied to asking me about the stuff I struggle with and one of the sections is what the uni can do to support me.

Now I’ve never done anything like this before and so I don’t know what accommodations there actually are for ADHD at university.

I also don’t currently have a diagnosis (I’m saving up to go private coz otherwise I could be on the waiting list for 2 years which is impractical) so I’m not sure what I CAN get in the first place.

At my old school I had regular sessions where I would go and talk to someone about how I’d been and how I was getting on and just a general overview of what I needed still to complete. She also started helping me with revision techniques.

I also had one teacher in particular who recognised that I was struggling and told me to come and sit in her lessons to work which really really helped me.

Are either of those realistic things to ask for?

Are there any other accommodations you would recommend looking into?

Thank you in advance!

2 Likes

Ok first question you asked was what the accommodations are. They may include: Extra time on work and tests, private time with the teacher (if you’re lucky), and even sometimes work changed or removed (again if your lucky). But all the accommodations vary depending on the kid or adult.I don’t really know your situation or how bad you have it. But if you can get them I think it might be nice. I hope you do well in your university!!!

1 Like

Hello!