Why do I do this to myself? (music)

Oh man… got into a spiral of listening to Jonny Cash’s cover of Hurt today. Every reaction video on youtube too.

I am very sensitive to music. Good music will cause me goosebumps and tears, whether the song is happy or sad. My emotions spill over thought my eyes, positive or negative. I know it’s because my hormonal reactions are extreme because one of your body’s ways of flushing excess hormones is through tears. Which is one reason why we tend to tear up with an excess of feelings, why we cry when we are livid with rage and not just when we are sad.

So, here I am, driving myself to tears with this song today. I am studying too, selecting textbooks and filling out FAFSA forms and deciding just what I am doing for Easter dinner this year… but through a veil of tears of joy for the beauty of the song and for pain of the emotion expressed in this rendition. I am exhausting myself.

Ah well… it’s beautiful.

1 Like

In other news I found my Flaming Hot Nacho Doritos in the fridge… :roll_eyes:

2 Likes

Classical music for me . . .

But when I’m sad . . . and allow myself to fall deeper into sadness/depression . . . When for whatever reason I want to feel the sadness, pain, grief . . . catharsis! Then I fall back to my Jewish roots . . . listen to a cantor’s lamentation . . . his soulful voice . . . in Hebrew!

With that the pain in remembering my losses . . . deaths of my parents, my sister, my uncle, my friends . . . leads me to a low point unmatched by any other experiential, purposeful search for . . . WHY?

2 Likes

I love Hebrew music, even in the frenetic Klezmer music there is such depth. I love it especially when I can see the men dance as well. It’s about a religious experience for me.

I have a very eclectic taste from bands like disturbed to Garth Brook, 21 pilots and Matchbox 20 and of course all the David Bowie and Roy Orbison.