Work: How do you tell if it's the ADHD or if you actually have too much work?

Hi guys…I’m new to the forum and new to my diagnosis…I’m one of those girls who didn’t get diagnosed until her 30s because I’m inattentive (except for the constant foot bouncing). Lately I’ve been having a really bad struggle at work, where I have to juggle multiple tasks throughout the day and they’re all really important, because I work in the medical field.

I feel constantly overwhelmed, because I have to answer the phone while I’m doing other tasks and it seems like I can never complete what I’m doing before someone is adding another task to my pile. Several of my coworkers have said that I have too much work given to me, and I definitely have more on my plate than any of my current coworkers, but I also know that people who worked here before me were able to do my same job. I’ve definitely improved with managing my workload and completing tasks before moving on to the next since I was diagnosed and started taking medication and maintaining a bullet journal for work, but I’m still feeling overwhelmed and missing things.

Does anyone know of any tools to use or ways that I can tell if it’s a problem with me or with the job?

9 Likes

It’s super important to note that just because other people worked there before you and were able to do the exact same job, doesn’t mean you have to work at the same caliber. That’s drawing a comparison and that is a dangerous thing to get into the habit of. Try to avoid comparing yourself to other people, hard though it may be. If you are feeling constantly overwhelmed at work ask if you can drop one thing, give it to someone who doesn’t have too much on their plate, if your manager allows it. See if taking one thing off your plate helps. Also track what you can, see how much you’re doing in one day, one week, one month. Only you know how much you can handle, and how much you can do without feeling so overwhelmed that it’s causing you stress. :heart: