Working with tinnitus

Hi, I was just wondering if anyone has tinnitus and if it’s affected their ability to work?
With medication and with a quiet environment I can often work well enough but since developing tinnitus it’s become a lot harder. I’ve tried drowning it out but white noise makes me really anxious after a while and I find music/talking too distracting.

2 Likes

Hi
i am an acupuncture therapist and it can be very effective for tinnitus, i may be able to give you some advice if you are happy to discuss it on here, can i ask what kind of noice you experience, it is high pitch with quick onset that comes and goes or more of a low pitch constant drone?

If you would prefer not to discuss it here dont worry i wont be offended lol, maybe you could consider seeing a local therapist, i would highly recommend it as i have helped lots of people with the same problem.

If you don’t like needles don’t panic i can just give you some free advice that may help without having to have the acupuncture at all🙂

2 Likes

Thanks, it’s constant and high pitched, a bit like a mosquito or a faulty phone charger and only in my left ear. It’s associated with some hearing loss so i’m hoping a hearing aid is going to help but will give anything a go.

3 Likes

@Samuelburns @adhdBob I have had a high pitched buzz and static in both ears. It comes and goes. It may be a side effect of medication. I am sensitive to sounds so at times it is aggravating. Is it an ADHD thing or do we just notice it more?

2 Likes

I think ADHD makes habituation harder, it’s been 9 months and if anything is getting worse. Also I struggle with mindfulness techniques that have been recommended.

2 Likes

What was recommended to you?

1 Like

I’m not sure what I’ve done with my treatment notes but there’s some info here that it was based on; Mindfulness for tinnitus | British Tinnitus Association
I wish I had the level of control over my concentration to meditate!

1 Like

You’re very welcome.